Overall victory and class win for Audi customer squads in Circuit Hero 700km


  • Zun Motorsport Crew sweeps to overall victory with Audi R8 LMS GT3
  • Team Liqui Moly NewFaster third overall and TCR winner with Audi RS 3 LMS
  • TCR podium for TSRT rounds out successful Zhuhai weekend for Audi customer squads in China

Zhuhai, December 8, 2019 – Zun Motorsport Crew took their second consecutive overall victory in the Circuit Hero 700km at China’s Zhuhai International Circuit today. In a flawless run from pole to chequered flag by Adderly Fong, Ma Ka Chun, Lin Yiming and Julio Acosta the Audi R8 LMS GT3 trounced the competition and cut a swathe through the 30-strong field. There was victory too for the Team Liqui Moly NewFaster duo of Philip Tang and Tse Ka Hing, who took their Audi RS 3 LMS to victory in Class A for TCR vehicles and finished third overall. TSRT took third in the TCR class with Audi Sport Asia driver Chen Weian and teammates Liu Peng and Lin Xinying.

“Congratulations to Zun Motorsport Crew and Team Liqui Moly NewFaster on their emphatic victories today and to TSRT for their class podium finish,” said Martin Kuehl, Director of Audi Sport customer racing Asia. “Our customer teams demonstrated once again how competitive both the Audi R8 LMS GT3 and the Audi RS 3 LMS are over any distance.”

It was a challenging race for the two Champ x TA Motorsport entries after a strong qualifying saw the #26 Audi RS 3 LMS of Filipe Souza, Li Ka Hei and Cherry Cheung second fastest in class just ahead of teammates Kelvin Lam, Angelo Negro and James Wong in the #48 entry.

Race report

As the race got underway, Zun Motorsport Crew led the field with TSRT the leading Class A entry having locked in the category pole ahead of the two Champ x TA Motorsport cars and the #81 Liqui Moly NewFaster entry.

Adderly Fong, taking the opening stint in the Zun Motorsport Audi R8 LMS GT3, immediately pulled away from the pack. A strong start by Tse Ka Hing saw the #81 Audi RS 3 LMS jump to the front of the Class A runners, leading an Audi 1-2-3 from the #48 Champ x TA Motorsport and the TSRT entry. Unfortunately, the #26 Champ x TA Motorsport sister car was forced to retire before the first of several safety car interventions an hour in to the race.

The GT and Class A Audi dominance continued with Zun Motorsport Crew building an unassailable lead ahead of second overall and the Class A leading #81 Liqui Moly NewFaster entry.

Following another safety car period, and with 24 laps remaining, the #48 Audi RS 3 was forced into the pits and out of the race with a technical issue, ending what had begun as a weekend full of promise for the Champ x TA Motorsport team.

At the front of the field, however, there was no stopping Zun Motorsport Crew, with Ma Ka Chun taking the final stint to storm across the line in the Audi R8 LMS GT3 after 162 wheel-perfect laps. Philip Tang took the Class A win and third overall for Team Liqui Moly New Faster, while Chen Weian sealed the final class podium place for TSRT.