TPR Racing takes overall podium and leads Audi 1-2-3 TCR class finish in Circuit Hero 700km Endurance Race


  • Audi RS 3 LMS of Wu Wenfa, Lv Zhenming and Huang Zijun takes third overall and class A (TCR) victory
  • Team Liqui Moly New Faster leads home Champ Motorsport for Audi TCR class podium lockout
  • Disappointment for TSRT after late-race retirement while running third in class

Zhuhai, January 10, 2021 – It was an all-Audi RS 3 LMS TCR podium for the 2021 edition of the Circuit Hero 700km Endurance Race at the 4.318km Zhuhai International Circuit today. TPR Racing’s Wu Wenfa, Lv Zhenming and Huang Zijun swept to third place overall and clinched the class victory. Category runner-up Team Liqui Moly New Faster with Lai Jingwen and Huang Chuhan lead home the Champ Motorsport line-up of Pu Shu, Liu Hanqing and Gong Wei.

“Congratulations to TPR Racing for their overall podium and category win,” said Alexander Blackie, Manager of Audi Sport customer racing Asia. “Endurance racing is the ultimate test of driving skill, teamwork and technical performance. Our drivers and teams can be highly satisfied with their trophy haul.”

2021 Circuit Hero 700km Endurance Race report

TPR Racing led the four Audi RS 3 LMS entries as the marathon got underway at a chilly but dry Zhuhai International Circuit. Team Liqui Moly New Faster took the lead early on, with Champ Motorsport losing ground at the start but recovering quickly and getting back up the order.

After the first driver changeover it was the TSRT Audi RS 3 LMS of Liang Yongchao, Dai Xin and Gao Huayang who led the led the class at the second of five safety car interruptions, continuing to hold the advantage after the second set of driver switches and two more safety car interventions.

With two hours 45 minutes remaining on the clock though, the TSRT Audi made contact while passing a slower car, damaging the front left side of the car and seeing it briefly come to a halt on track. Having got the car going again and making it back to the pits, the team were able to send the car back out on track, rejoining third in class and fifth overall. At the fifth safety car, TPR Racing led the class, third overall ahead of Team Liqui Moly New Faster, TSRT – who deftly avoided the stranded car for which the race was suspended, with Champ Motorsport fifth in class and seventh overall.

At the mid-way point, it was an Audi 1-2-3-4 in class, led by TPR Racing and, after a flurry of driver changes, they held the class lead and third overall in the running behind a pair of GT4s.

However, the drama wasn’t over for the TSRT Audi RS 3 LMS as the car was forced into retirement with just 42 minutes remaining.

The final hour belonged to TPR Racing, with a series of faultless pit stops and driver stints taking them to a deserved third place overall and Class A victory. Team Liqui Moly New Faster had the consolation of both a class podium and fastest lap, while Champ Motorsport had shown their form early on with their recovery seeing them take third in class.

2021 Circuit Hero 700km Endurance Race results

3rd overall/1st Class A/#68 TPR Racing/Wu Wenfa/Lv Zhenming/ Huang Zijun
4th overall/2nd Class A/#81 Team Liqui Moly New Faster/Lai Jingwen/ Huang Chuhan
6th overall/3rd Class A/#97 Champ Motorsport/Pu Shu/Liu Hanqing/Gong Wei
DNF/#8 TSRT/Liang Yongchao/Dai Xin/Gao Huayang